Plain-English primer on FMCSA BMC-84 freight broker surety bonds — the $75,000 federal penal sum, multi-claimant oversubscription, interpleader and default judgments as procedure, and BMC-84 vs BMC-85. Education only; not legal or claims advice.
Last verified: October 5, 2026 (PT)
Education only / verify at source / not legal or claims advice. FMCSA forms, statutes, and court orders change. Global Guarantors publishes an educational map of the federal freight-broker BMC-84 surety bond and what can happen when many claimants compete for a fixed penal sum — not premiums, quotes, a claims playbook, or advice on any live file. Confirm the issued bond, the live CFR text, FMCSA filings, and licensed counsel before relying on anything here.
Start here: Surety 101 · Commercial surety · Surety claims basics · Glossary · FAQ
In US federal motor-carrier regulation, a property broker that arranges transportation by motor carrier must maintain prescribed financial responsibility. One common way is a surety bond filed with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) on Form BMC-84.
It remains a three-party surety bond (see Surety 101): the principal is the licensed broker (or freight forwarder when the same form family applies); the surety issues and files the bond; the form and regulation describe protection for shippers or motor carriers if the broker fails covered arrangements for supplying transportation by authorized motor carriers.
This is commercial / license-permit surety — a condition of federal authority, not a construction performance or payment bond (Commercial surety; Surety claims basics). “BMC-84” names the FMCSA filing form; the live duty is the issued bond, 49 CFR, and 49 U.S.C. § 13906.
Under 49 CFR § 387.307, a broker must have a surety bond or trust fund of $75,000 in effect. FMCSA will not register until the full amount is in effect, and registration continues only while that security remains in effect. Surety evidence is Form BMC-84; trust evidence is Form BMC-85.
The same $75,000 appears on Form BMC-84 (broker or freight forwarder) and in 49 U.S.C. § 13906 for both broker and freight-forwarder financial-security language. 49 CFR § 387.405 makes the forwarder surety/trust minimum identical to the broker amount in § 387.307.
Education meaning: $75,000 is a federal minimum penal sum / security floor — not a promise that every unpaid freight invoice will be paid in full from the bond.
Compliance overlay (orientation only): In effect since January 16, 2026, FMCSA’s financial-responsibility rule adds drawdown notice, replenishment, and possible suspension mechanics when security falls below $75,000. Details live in § 387.307 and FMCSA’s overview — this primer is not that rulebook.
Verify at source: Use the current BMC-84 form hosted on FMCSA.gov — legacy PDFs elsewhere can lag revisions.
A fixed $75,000 security can be far smaller than the sum of alleged unpaid freight and related claims when a broker stops paying carriers, factors, or other counterparties.
That gap is structural:
When many parties compete for one fund, sureties and courts often use a single proceeding to gather claims, deposit or interplead the bond amount, and allocate that fixed sum. That is where interpleader and, sometimes, default judgments against non-appearing claimants enter as procedure.
Interpleader (plain English) lets a stakeholder holding a limited fund — often a surety facing multiple claims on one bond — bring competitors into one case, deposit the proceeds when the rules allow, and ask the court to allocate that fund so the stakeholder is not sued repeatedly for more than the fund.
This primer is not a litigation checklist. Venue, deposit rules, and clocks are counsel- and forum-specific. Education pattern only:
| Sketch | What readers often see described |
|---|---|
| Many claims vs one bond | Aggregate demands exceed the $75,000 penal sum |
| Interpleader filed | Competing claims pulled into a single proceeding |
| Funds deposited | Bond proceeds (or the amount tendered) placed with the court |
| Non-appearance | Some named defendants never answer |
| Default judgment | Court may extinguish those parties’ rights to the bond proceeds / related claims against the depositing stakeholder — as the order states |
| Remaining claimants | Competition continues among parties still in the case, still against a limited fund |
Default here is a procedural consequence of failing to appear — not a finding that the broker never owed freight, and not a guarantee appearing claimants are paid in full.
Cole, Scott & Kissane (CSK) published an October 2, 2026 newsroom summary of a freight-broker bond dispute in which a federal court in the Miami-Dade area entered default final judgment for its insurer client.
Facts as CSK states them (allegations / case summary — not verified here against the docket):
How to read it: many claimants → fixed $75k → interpleader → defaults removing non-appearing parties. Treat CSK as a counsel newsroom summary, not the judgment or docket. This page does not take sides or forecast other cases.
Not publicly disclosed in the firm’s summary: the full case caption, docket number, and order text were not in the CSK article, and how the bond was allocated among the remaining claimants is not stated.
FMCSA allows the same $75,000 broker financial-responsibility requirement to be met either way:
| BMC-84 | BMC-85 | |
|---|---|---|
| Instrument | Surety bond | Trust fund with a financial institution |
| Regulatory purpose (§ 387.307) | Payments to shippers or motor carriers if the broker fails covered transportation arrangements | Same purpose for the trust alternative |
| Trust assets (live § 387.307(b)) | N/A | Assets totaling $75,000 liquidable within 7 calendar days; limited to cash, irrevocable letters of credit from a federally insured depository institution, and U.S. Treasury bonds |
Same dollar floor; different vehicle. FMCSA’s overview notes that switching providers is an E-filer process and that FMCSA does not endorse specific providers. This page does not compare premiums, collateral, or “which is better.”
Orientation only — not a claims, credit, or litigation playbook.
Global Guarantors is an education hub — instruments and regulations to read, not claim-filing or placement.
| GG surface | Why open it |
|---|---|
| Commercial surety | License/permit family; commercial ≠ construction claim analogies |
| Surety claims basics | What a surety “claim” means |
| Surety 101 | Three-party map and penal-sum basics |
| Glossary | Principal, surety, obligee, penal sum, indemnity |
| Wordings library | Public specimen index (BMC-84 specimen not yet listed; use the FMCSA.gov form) |
| Bond wordings — public specimens | How to read conditions on public forms |
| Government & regulatory watch | Regulatory change orientation |
| FAQ | Short surety Q&A |
Not on this site: claim-filing instructions, outcome forecasts, premiums, get-a-quote CTAs, or soft sells to third-party bond shops.
Public sources confirmed 2026-10-05 (PT). High-level cites only; no full bond text republished.
Global Guarantors Education — educational content. Not an offer of bonding, insurance, or legal advice. Not a recommendation to place business with any named underwriter. Always verify forms, statutes, FMCSA filings, and court records at primary sources. Not a claims or litigation playbook.